What Is Wrong With The Insurance Industry?

Image

Hi! I have been postponing this topic for a while now and I think that is enough! Enough also with the insurance industry craziness. Enough with the greed for money. The list might not end. Have you ever picked up your phone and dialed that 800 number or maybe your local agent to buy auto – coverage for instance? They have made it easy such that all you need is a computer, an internet connection and of course a credit card! This post might be similar to your story!

I am writing this post with great disappointment. I have been there myself, my friends have been there and many other drivers. After my car was rear – ended, you guessed it, I had to contact the insurance company of the driver who scared the life out of me. What has always surprised me is this: to get coverage, it takes less than an hour if you are savvy enough and maybe a day if you take the paper route but to file a claim and seek compensation for damages, it can take years! Talk about the number of people you have to talk to, be on hold for thirty minutes, you may even feel like killing yourself. Sometimes, you end up getting nothing in return even if you were the victim.

A friend of mine recently told me of his ordeal. He had been paying premiums for almost thirteen long years without fail. If there is one thing that I hate most, and I believe some people agree with me here, is paying a lot of money each month for something that might never happen(uncertainty is costly). This of course is not an excuse to cancel your insurance – I learned that the hard way after a ticket cost me more than I expected. Just to be on the safe side of the law, it is good to get coverage. What happened to my friend? Read on!

After all those years of paying premiums, his wife was involved in a minor accident. She hit the back of another vehicle (very slight hit) and as usual, they called their insurance agents. The damage on my friend’s vehicle was minor but you won’t believe what the insurance company told them: the vehicle was totaled(not good for use anymore)! What? They just rushed into saying so in order for the case to be closed and avoid more expenses. That is insane. In return, they promised to pay them $800 for a car that was in good condition. They told them that there were several damages on the vehicle before the accident that reduced the value by thousands of dollars. Grrrrrrrrrr!

Phone call after phone call after phone call, nothing happened. After a long time of negotiations, my friend finally agreed to a settlement. The irony is that there are no stupid negotiations while signing up for coverage, all they want is your money and after that, they are gone. Miss a month’s premium and you are doomed. The question is: is the concept of insurance (particularly for motor vehicles) a scam or the people are? I wish there was a solution to this evil act of greed. Unless you do not own a car of course, looks like we are here for a long fight.

I am done! Take care. Do Not Text and Drive … it actually kills!

Leave a Reply

