A Simple NO With Meaning

Image

Today, I decided to walk instead of riding. That decision helped save the environment and helped me remain fit. What I did not count however, was the fact that walking gives you an opportunity to see things that you would otherwise not see while inside a car! So, today, I found something cool, and I was surprised to learn that I have been using the same path so many times without noticing its presence..keep reading.

I was walking back home from our local store and then with my curiosity, I looked to my right (In my native language, they say eyes have no curtains) and I saw something that caught my eye. I walked by as if it meant nothing at all, or was I right? I was wrong and in my conscience, I knew that I had to do something. So, I walked back and snapped a photo using my smartphone camera. That is what you see above this post. It was a simple statement that said ‘NO’. That was it. There were no other writings below it. Excuse me sir, NO what? After taking the picture, I continued my walk.

Why am I writing about it? Because I later realized that I was underestimating the meaning of that simple statement. What was covered inside that box had to be protected. Even though I still think whoever wrote it did not give sufficient information to convince someone to avoid tampering with the box, I think saying NO is enough, at least for a smart person!

That two letter word kept me thinking. How often do I use the word NO? Do I say YES to please others? Am I worried of hurting people? How much does it cost to say NO to a close friend or even a family member? It seems we have been brought up into thinking that we always have to say YES to everything. I think it is time to learn how to say NO. At times, you don’t even need to add anything to it. Like whoever wrote the above warning! Perhaps if you can say NO to something you don’t feel is right, you can realize the true meaning of trust, friendship, and life.

Finally, it might hurt to say NO sometimes, but if it is the right thing to do, then it is well worth the pain. Thank You and always learn to say NO when you are confronted by things that are not right. Good Day.

You can read more of my views at My Life Sentences and stay safe!

 

Leave a Reply

