The Cost And Value Of Freedom

Image

Hi! Today, am going to write about something most of us(including me) take for granted: freedom. There are so many types of freedoms of course but I will focus on what July 4th means the United States of America and what independence day means to other nations. That subject is vital enough to be, well, history. What do I think about it? Let me share my thoughts.

I have come to learn and believe that freedom, as you might have found out or read is not free. If you are lucky enough to be free today, someone, you may or may not know, fought for it years ago. Maybe you are still fighting for it but I know the ultimate goal is to win it. The endless question in my mind is this: are we really free today? Tell me what you think.

The path to freedom is long and winding. It is rough and sometimes or most often filled with blood. One thing am fascinated about is war movies. It is sad that the aftermath is death and destruction but what they teach me is the cost of freedom as well as its value(don’t get me wrong here, I think most wars are evil but sometimes necessary). I often ask myself what role I am currently playing when it comes to modeling a freer universe, a place free from dictatorships, a world without tyranny, hate, slavery, wars, corporate greed, enmity and so forth. If that was possible, perhaps the only struggle for freedom would be from our inner selves.

Sometimes I look across the road and see people walking peacefully, talking and doing what makes them happy. It makes me rethink a lot of things. The question of whether they know that other people cannot even walk across their streets without fear of death or not is hard to answer. In America, people sleep soundly – be it at night or day. Every time they hear an explosion, they know it is a tire blowing up by accident or the obvious fireworks on the 4th of July. In other places where freedom is out of reach and a dream yet to be turned into a reality, the only type of explosion they have lived to see is that of a bomb blast or a grenade going off and people dieing.

Are we taking anything for granted? Maybe or maybe not. It remains to be seen whether the whole world will truly be free. The path to freedom is not smooth. We all have wishes, don’t we? I do! I also have dreams. I once in a while feel like I could jump into the boat and save it from sinking. But, like most others, I get discouraged by what is going on around the world. The obvious lack of leadership. Maybe one day I will actually do something about it, meanwhile, I will keep trying my best.

I will end here for now. Meanwhile, let us ask ourselves what freedom really means to us. If we can live without any kind of fear, shouldn’t we be thankful to those who work day and night to protect us? I think we should appreciate their sacrifices. Besides that, let us do our part in building a freer world, one step at a time.

My final word is this: Let Freedom reign. God bless the world.

Leave a Reply

