What Does It Mean, To You?

Image

Well, it is that time of the year again when I get to tell myself I am not getting any younger. I thought sharing this with you might help drive away the … feeling of actually growing old. I am not worried about it so much but I normally ask myself questions like ‘what did you achieve last year?’, ‘Are your dreams really gonna come true?’, ‘What is next in the queue?’ Those questions often go unanswered, unfortunately.

Here is my take on life so far: It is easy to hear what people say to you, the most important thing is what you know about it from experience. Some may discourage you, some may encourage you and others will have nothing to do with you. So far, I have seen, read and heard a lot about life and yet there is more to learn. The truth that I know (and it seems it should be obvious) is that as I grow older, I get to make better decisions, understand people better and face challenges with hope instead of giving up.

What is the big deal about birthdays? Well, I started celebrating(not throwing parties) when I was 22 and when I looked back, I couldn’t believe that 21 years had just slipped away without noticing. That kept me thinking, what if I just lived without worrying about how old I am, unless when I was filling up some forms or something. The reason am saying this is because perhaps we focus so much on how old we are instead of looking at the life in the years we have lived….get it? One smart person once said it is not the years in the life but rather the life in the years! I love that saying!

Anyway, I will stop here for now and continue thinking about what my next year will look like! I hope that it will be a blessed one, a brighter one, one filled with achievements, happiness, peace and love. Sometimes we strive so much for what we feel we want instead of what we really need and I do not want to do that. I want to work hard, be happy and enjoy life without forgetting the fact that there is more to it than just wanting things, overdoing things and much more.

I know one thing for sure: the day I will locate that total happiness, placing people first before my own desires, is the day I will understand what life is all about. Thank you for reading my blog. Please remember to subscribe if you like what you read. The other way to let me know that you were here is to leave a comment and often with a link to your blog of course. See you soon!

You can read my opinions at My Life Sentences – A True Story

 

Leave a Reply

